20 Day Challenge – Day 7


14 Books I Have Read or Would Like To Read

In this section, I am only listing my favorite books.

  1. The Hunger Games. Best book ever so far.  I have The Hunger Games fever just like everyone else on the planet.  But, here’s the kicker.  I don’t usually get caught up in hype.  In fact, I avoid it.  But this book was just too fantastic to ignore.
  2. Catching Fire .  See above.  I was a little disappointed by the sequel, because it didn’t really involve a lot of action.  But, it was a great bridge between the first and third book in the series.
  3. Mockingjay. Unbelievably incredible!  It is so rare that a book in a trilogy is actually any good, but this book almost rivaled The Hunger Games.
  4. Uglies. I know, another futuristic, against Big Brother teen novel.  When I was a teen, they didn’t have novels like this.  I grew up primarily on The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice, supernatural novels, and fantasy novels.  This is absolutely perfect.  It has an amazing amount of energy and action.  It leaves you on the edge of your seat.  And it really gets you thinking about society and the way things are.
  5. The Giver.  This may be the most striking children’s book ever.  Again, another futuristic book with a child that challenges authority.  I think it’s interesting to ponder where we are, and where the fictional characters are.  It is puzzling, but strikingly feasible.  How did they get there to that society?  And how do they plan to change it?
  6. 1984 .  Required reading for anyone who has went to high school in the last 10 years or so.  It’s riveting, thought provoking, and completely feasible for the future.  I enjoy how they set the book up to sort of alter events in history to get there.  It’s a wonderful “What if?” book.
  7. The Bell Jar.  Any woman afflicted by disorder should read this book.  Sylvia Plath paints a whole world of a troubled young woman and documents her decent into madness and treatment that follows.  It’s a powerful narrative that I couldn’t put down!
  8. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  I’m not one for crime dramas.  But this book is addictive and suspenseful.  A word of caution for those who are considering reading this.  There are triggers in here.  It is pretty graphic, and for those that are rather impatient, the book doesn’t start to actually pick up until somewhere in the 200’s.
  9. On Suicide.  Great Writers on the Ultimate Question.  This is a collection of many writers on their take on suicide.  Yes, it might flick a few triggers, but it really gives a person perspective into suicidal behavior, and their own questions of life and death.  I loved this book!
  10. Quarterlife Crisis: The Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties.  This is a great read for anyone in their 20’s and early 30’s.  I was long past my Quarterlife Crisis by the time I got my hands on this book, but it was a really inspiring read.
  11. Elements of Crisis Intervention: Crises and How to Respond to Them.  This is a read specifically for those that are interested in psychology.  This was actually a text book of mine that I still pull out from time to time as a point of reference.  It helps you learn how to talk to people in crisis.  Even if it’s not a major crisis.
  12. The Pillars of the Earth.  Ken Follett wrote this brilliantly!  It’s about a little town who is trying to build a great cathedral.  I’ll leave it at that.  There is betrayal, violence, kindness, and so much more.  It is truly a book for the ages.
  13. The Great Gatsby.  I’m sure I don’t have to go into this one.  Most everyone has read it.
  14. Lord of the Flies.  I really enjoyed the idea of how societies develop, and how children would handle themselves without adults.  It reflects upon our own society and the pecking order.
4 thoughts on “20 Day Challenge – Day 7

  1. The girl with the Dragon Tattoo seems like my kind of book actually. I almost think that I have already read it. My memory lol!

  2. I know by the time I get to “The Girl Who Played With Fire”, I’m going to have to re-read the first book. I really love it though, even though I knew who was the culprit anyway. The twists are almost unforeseeable though.

  3. “The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo” is much better than its sequels . . . especially the third book.

    Personally, “Catching Fire” was my favorite Hunger Games book. I don’t know why.

    I actually found “Lord of the Flies” boring. Seems weird, considering what happens in it . . . maybe I just don’t like the author’s writing style.

Your thoughts?

